Just a Wee Little Baker, on a Working Holiday Visa!

Yes, you did read my title correctly. I did use a kiwi slang word ‘wee’.

We’ve been living in Christchurch for nine weeks now and I’ve been working for just under six weeks at a wee little café called Ristretto and I love it. I work with a small team of ladies, three kiwis, an American woman on a working holiday visa and a woman from Poland also on a working holiday visa and my boss is from Amsterdam.

I primarily work as a café assistant in the kitchen and part of my role is helping the chef for which sometimes, I get to bake. I honestly have zero experience in baking; my mum is a chef so I grew up learning how to cook, never to bake. But I’m really enjoying it!

I’m writing this blog post to share with you some of the goodies I have made at work so far. I’m new to baking but I think they look delicious.

IMG_0610
Banoffee Slice- the finishing touch to this slice has melted chocolate drizzled over the top.
IMG_0611
Banoffee Slice- Biscuit bottom, banana in the middle and a caramel topping.
IMG_0612
Dark Chocolate Brownie- I like making the brownie. Finishing touches- icing sugar dusted over the top. Cut in half, and into slices.
IMG_0657 (Edited)
Raspberry and Coconut Slice- Gluten free base, raspberries baked in the middle, topped with coconut and icing sugar.
IMG_0745
Orange Cakes- these aren’t burnt. My boss said they are cooked really well, golden but not burnt hehe. Orange cakes are my favourite, they taste delicious. Cut into slices, dusted with icing sugar and decorated with blueberries or strawberries.
IMG_0750
Museli Slice. Back home in the UK this slice is referred to as flap jack. Really easy to make and yummy to eat.

I’m really enjoying working at the café, learning to bake, meeting other travellers and local kiwi’s. Working holiday visa in New Zealand is living up to expectations!

I hope you like the look of my baking.. hopefully there will be more to come. Enjoy 🙂

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Just a Wee Little Baker, on a Working Holiday Visa!

  1. Jennifer Whitehurst

    Love this Sadie! Your baking looks DELICIOUS and pleased you’re happy in your job 🙂 Look forward to sampling your new found skills when you’re home! xx

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

