New York, New York

New York, New York

For those of you who know me quite well, you know that I absolutely love the month December, as it is Christmas. For those of you who don’t know me, I adore Christmas. I have been to New York before and loved every second of it; it really is a diverse, beautiful, hustle and bustle City. As people say “it’s the city that never sleeps”. This time, my sister and I were in New York City for three weeks, over Christmas and New Year’s. I can honestly say seeing this city in the Christmas holidays, is spectacular!

Over three weeks we did and saw so much in New York and I want to share with you my experiences and recommendations. For the first fifteen nights, we stayed in a whole apartment, through Air BnB, which was great. We actually felt like a solid New Yorker, catching the subway, walking three blocks to Central Park, ordering late night pizza and coming home to an apartment. For the last five nights, both our boyfriends flew out to visit us and we stayed in a futuristic, modern hotel called Yotel, located near Times Square.

So where to begin? My sister and I don’t really watch much sport, I like watching The Olympics and Wimbledon but that’s as far as it goes. However, we decided to go and see a basketball game at Madison Square Garden to see the New York Knicks play and it was incredible! So here we are sat in our stalls, with a pint of Cola-Cola, chicken strippers, fries, wearing our New York Knicks Jersey’s and ready to watch the first game of the season against the Atlanta Hawks. It was an exhilarating feeling, the atmosphere was thriving, the crowd was cheering and the Knicks won! If you don’t watch much sport, I would still recommend seeing a game in NYC, it’s a great day out and you never know you might be lucky to see a celebrity at the game. We were very lucky to see Chris Rock courtside and Jessica Chastain. Claim to fame at a basketball game? I’m definitely ticking that one off my bucket list.

Madison Square Garden is a beautiful venue in NYC, so we also attended a VIP All Access Tour of the most famous Arena in the world. The tour costs $26.95, you can book online and receive a sale discount or you can arrive on the day and pay the full amount. We were lucky enough to be the only four in our group, so the tour was very private and personal. We had access to VIP areas of the Arena, and the seating areas, we saw both the Knicks and Rangers locker rooms. An interesting fact about the Rangers locker rooms is the players are very superstitious. The Rangers cover up the logo on the floor, as they believe it is bad luck to have it on show. You see the spectacular Chase Bridges, and the private media section of these bridges. One of my favourite sections was the defining moment’s exhibition, a walk-through of the most significant historic moments taken place in the venue. I would highly recommend this tour, to see the venue, learn about the history and learn interesting facts about the players.

A family friend of mine has been to New York in Christmas time before and recommends seeing the Radio City Christmas Spectacular show, starring the Radio City Rockettes and I am so happy he did. Excuse the pun, but it was truly spectacular. My sister and I bought our tickets back in October as it is a popular show, we didn’t want to miss out on tickets. We paid $90 each for our tickets, so they are a little expensive but the show is worth the money. The show is filled with Christmas overload, lots of dancing, music, visual effects, real life animals, Santa Clause, absolutely brilliant. I would recommend arriving early to purchase a drink, something to nibble on and allowing yourself enough time to take photographs of the venue. We also saw our first ever Broadway in NYC, Aladdin. Again for those of you who don’t know me very well, I love Disney. I’ve seen Lion King in the West End in London before and it’s the best show I’ve ever seen. Aladdin is also one of my favourites! If you decide to see a Disney’s Broadway, please book a date which stars James Monroe Iglehart who plays the character of Genie on stage. He is without a doubt the best actor I have had the pleasure of watching on stage. Truly fantastic! Great show, beautiful songs, really creative, clever, and so magical.

If you like Christmas trees, then you 100% have to visit the famous Rockefeller Christmas tree. The decorations are beautiful, the Christmas lights sparkle, the star on top of the tree glistens, it’s a huge tree and it’s so spectacular. Rockefeller centre at this time of year is jammed packed with tourists, but don’t let this put you off visiting the tree. And if you’re a fan of the film Home Alone 2, you can take a walk down memory lane and stand in the exact spot that Kevin McCallister stands in, when he makes a wish in front of the tree to see his mum again. You can go ice skating at Rockefeller; however I would recommend ice skating in central park instead. The ice rink is bigger, less crowds and cheaper. The tree itself promotes a perfect picture!

That’s it for now, I have a lot more to say about New York City but I will continue this blog post in a separate post, so I don’t overload you with information. I hope you like what I’ve recommended so far, New York is a stunning city and it offers so much. Let me know if you have any questions and I’ll be happy to answer. I will continue this blog soon!

Thank you.

Sadie Chillingworth

08/07/2016

Leave a Reply

