Niagara Falls!

I had the greatest opportunity to visit one of the most beautiful and breath-taking places in the world- Niagara Falls on the Canadian side!

My sister and I visited Niagara Falls whilst we were in Toronto, Canada. We travelled down using Megabus services, which is another option over using Greyhound services. If I’m going to speak honestly with you, I would recommend Megabus over Greyhound. They can be slightly more expensive, but I feel the quality of the buses, the bus drivers and the people you sit with on Megabus are much nicer, then the ‘companions’ you have the pleasure of meeting on a Greyhound bus. That is just my opinion though. If you’re not fussy, then Greyhound services are just fine.

So, we travelled down to Niagara Falls back in December and as you can imagine Canada in December is quite chilly. If you do decide to visit the falls in winter, which I would absolutely recommend, you could be lucky enough to see the falls in snow, which would look stunning. Unfortunately, we didn’t see the falls in snow but we were in America a few weeks later when it did snow in Canada. I would recommend taking a warm winters coat with you, scarf, hat, gloves, and the full works actually. Walking towards the falls is very chilly.

My sister and I checked in to our Days Inn Hotel, which we stayed at on many occasions through-out our travels. In most cases, the Days Inn Hotel always offers continental breakfast and free parking. We were round the corner from a Tim Horton’s coffee shop, which I haven’t told you about yet, but I will. I’ll give you a brief feeling as to how I feel about Tim Horton’s- I would move to Canada for it. So we checked in, Tim’s round the corner and we strolled down Clifton Hill, which is just brilliant. Clifton Hill is a street leading down to the falls and it is jammed packed with attractions and restaurants: Planet Hollywood, Rainforest Cafe, Boston Pizza, Tim Hortons, Wax Museum, Video Arcades, Haunted House, Ripley’s Believe it or Not and much more. It really is great fun and a wonderful place to visit after or before the falls.

At the end of Clifton Hill, you will come across the main road leading towards the falls. You can see the water drop from a mile away and you can feel the water breeze on your face within seconds. Once you reach the falls, you will just feel a burst of happiness! They really are incredible. Three waterfalls straddle the international border between America and Canada; the Horseshoe Falls on the Canadian side, the American Falls and the Bridal Veil falls. The Horseshoe Falls are the most visited waterfalls, and this is where you’ll want to take your photos. With a drop off (approximately) 188 feet, this is just a place that you must see and you must tick off your bucket list.

Unfortunately, when my sister and I visited the falls, the famous ‘Maid of the Mist’ boat tour was closed for the winter season. This tour allows you to soak up every inch of the Niagara Falls water, as you sail towards the thundering sound of water gushing over the edge. Instead we did the ‘Journey Behind the Falls’, which was still great fun. Presides the fact you get to wear an awesome yellow poncho, this attractions runs throughout the whole year, the visit will take around 30-40 minutes, and is $16.75 for adults and $10.95 for children. An elevator descends 150 feet below the falls, though tunnels which lead to an open portal to see the falls ‘fall’ before your eyes. You can walk one third of the way through the tunnels, so you can actually hear the water above you. I would definitely recommend this tour on your visit and from hearing about other people’s adventures; I would also recommend the Maid of the Mist tour as well.

We also visited the Skylon Tower in Niagara Falls, which offers an (almost) bird’s eye view of the waterfalls, 360 degree view of the three falls, and a 360 degree revolving restaurant/dining room, so you can enjoy a delicious meal, with a beautiful view. It’s not every day you can say you ate in a fine dine revolving restaurant, whilst looking at one of the biggest waterfalls in the world. I can’t give you an exact price of how much the tower costs, as we had a voucher to use. And I know you can pick up many vouchers from the Tourist Information Visitors Site, so I would recommend visiting here first before paying full price at the tower.

There are many restaurants to eat at, many hotels to stay at, and shops to visit, attractions to play at and many opportunities to take pictures of the Niagara Falls when you visit. Lastly, I would absolutely recommend popping out at night-time and seeing the falls when they are illuminated! Every night, the falls are sparkling, illuminated like a rainbow- blue, pink, green, purple, red, etc. And believe me; you will not want to miss capturing a moment like this.

If you have already had the opportunity to visit Niagara Falls, I hope you had a wonderful time. This was definitely a high light in my eight months travels and I am pleased to say I have ticked this adventure off my bucket list. Please if you have any further questions or interests about this blog post or my other posts, get in touch, leave me a comment and I will be more than happy to chat!

In my next blog, I am going to discuss my trip to The Grand Canyon!

Speak soon, thank you.

Sadie Chillingworth

23/05/2016

Horseshoe Falls- Top left and right.

American Falls- Bottom left.

 

 

 

One thought on “Niagara Falls!

  1. Pingback: Niagara Falls! | Let's talk travel.

Leave a Reply

